Skip to content

JAM #9

August 17, 2011

When you can’t sew (because new lighting is going in the sewing room – yay!), the blog posting increases.

This is my recently-completed Anything But Ordinary jacket from Cutting Line Designs. It’s an oversized, boxy jacket, easy and cozy to toss on. Basically 4 pattern pieces without a lot of fitting necessary, it is an easy sew.

I shocked myself by deciding to test out this pattern as a pieced jacket. Ya’ll, this is so unlike me, but it came to me in a vision. I love natural linen damask/jacquard type weaves, and had scraps left over from my last CLD jacket. I also had a natural linen skirt in a different pattern that was never going to be worn, so I cut it up to use. Added another couple of linen scraps and here it is.

The effect is rather subtle. I got so carried away with art-to-wear-ness that I actually used one of the “fancy” stitches on my machine to embellish the plain linen stripe. White thread on cream fabric…doesn’t really stand out, but it does enliven the surface a little.

herringbone stitching on the lightest stripe, if you can see it

I put this together with foundation piecing, using batiste for the foundation. That made the jacket really cuddly, and none of the piecing shows on the inside. The method was easy-peasy, very much like the string-quilting technique shown here on Quiltville, except that my pieces were bigger.

I even used statement buttons to finish it off. This is a departure for me, but I like it. I especially like the magic built into that collar that makes it want to stand up.

Before I make this again, I’ll do some pinning on this one to see if I can reduce the volume just a little bit, and maybe try adding a dart. Just tweaks. I do have some other fabrics in the stash that I think would look very nice made up in this pattern.

Updating to show the fabrics used, since they didn’t show up very well. The first two were used for most of the jacket. Numbers 3 & 4 are the prominent stripes (which continue down the back and match at the shoulder), and the last one is cotton ticking used for the facings.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2011 11:41 pm

    I really like your results on this one. Great use of your “left overs” and “never wears” I must say. Hope you post on SG so Louise can see.

    • August 21, 2011 12:44 pm

      Thanks, Linda — I took your hint and posted on the CLD thread, too. Spouse told me Pursley’s was still open so I went by Friday. They had refreshed their inventory, and I bought a bit. Wonder how long it will take to clear everything out?

  2. August 18, 2011 12:43 am

    What a great jacket- and a great use of scraps!

    • August 21, 2011 12:47 pm

      Sometimes it pays to be a pack rat…that’s why the habit is so hard to kick.

  3. August 18, 2011 6:34 am

    Lovely, absolutely lovely. And works so well becuase of the tasteful tonal colour palette.

    • August 21, 2011 12:48 pm

      Thank you, Ruthie! You are the colour authority.

  4. August 18, 2011 6:03 pm

    This turned out really well. I didn’t realize the ABO was so versitle.

    • August 21, 2011 12:49 pm

      Bev, to me the pattern is made for interesting fabrics. With just 3 main pieces, it wouldn’t look right in a plain fabric. To me, anyway.

  5. Martha permalink
    August 20, 2011 2:42 am

    Oh, oh, oh! I love this. Subtle is divine here.

  6. August 20, 2011 7:40 pm

    That is absolutely gorgeous! I love artsy, inspired types of clothing. Your jacket is artsy without looking over the top or gaudy. It’s just perfect.

    • August 21, 2011 12:53 pm

      Thanks, Gwen! I’m working on an art/wearable balance. Too arty, and it won’t get worn. But arty is appropriate for my lifestyle and business. This was really fun to put together.

Leave a Reply

