Skip to content

evening clothes

September 22, 2011

Pattern Review has an anniversary coming up and there’s going to be a weekend get-together in Austin! I’m really excited about this because I may never get to go to a full-on PR Weekend. I am really looking forward to meeting other sewing enthusiasts. And, as it turns out, there are more indie fabric stores in Austin than I thought, and they all need to be fully investigated.

A cocktail outfit will be appropriate for Friday night, so in honor of the occasion I am going to sew up the most expensive fabric I ever bought. I also need this outfit for other things this fall, so the PR meet-up is just the kick in the rear I need.

Here’s my expensive fabric. I got it at Britex in San Francisco, and don’t remember exactly how much I paid for it, but there’s only 3/4 yd. I think I originally thought I’d fill in a neckline with it.

Don’t know if you can make it out, but there are little cylindrical beads every so often along the chain stitching. The silk backing has more body than chiffon, but it is still pretty see-through. It’s photographed with white behind it to show how sheer it is.

I am going to use an Ottobre pattern for my evening wear! This is from the 5/2009 issue of Ottobre Woman; #11, the “Carmen” top. It’s a plain darted shell. I’m hoping I’ll be able to eliminate the zipper, and will know for sure after I make up a muslin.

To go along with the shell, I am making a long-planned pair of Cutting Line Design one-seam pants. The straight-leg version will make a nice full (but not too full) evening pant. These have been planned for years, and I’ve had the black 4-ply silk to make them with for a loooong time. Like I said, a kick in the rear was needed. I was hoping to have enough of the 4-ply left over to underline the top, but that didn’t happen. So tomorrow I’ll make a lunchtime excursion to Golden D’Or to see what they might have.

There is some specialty basting thread on order that should come soon. My plan is to thread-trace the beaded fabric so that I can pick out the beads from the seam allowances and the darts. And yes, I will hand baste the seams before stitching. In a little top like this, it’s not that much extra work, and I do want it to turn out as nice as I can make it.\

The pants are cut, and they will get sewn up while I’m waiting for the basting thread. Also need to decide on shoes before hemming the pants….will need to scope out some shoe stores….

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2011 11:51 pm

    You are going to be gorgeous in your lovely evening outfit. I envy your PR weekend in Austin. I lived there for 17 years and still miss it. Have fun exploring indie sewing spots there.

    • September 23, 2011 11:43 pm

      Martha, I’m surprised at how many fabric stores there are for us to visit in Austin. They just opened a new one this week!

  2. September 23, 2011 2:11 am

    That is going to be beautiful! Gorgeous fabric and I like your plan. I so wish I could come to Austin that weekend but alas – not happening.

    • September 23, 2011 11:41 pm

      Peggy, I wish you could have made it, too! There’s still ASG in Houston and the Atlanta Expo next year….let’s make at least one of those happen!

  3. September 23, 2011 4:17 pm

    PR weekends are so much fun. Be sure and post about it and include the stores you visit so that someday, if I am ever in Austin……I love the fabrics and the outfit you are planning. It will be gorgeous

    • September 23, 2011 11:43 pm

      You betcha, Audrey. I’ll post the complete list of stores.

Trackbacks

  1. fancy schmancy « Unzipped

Leave a Reply

