Skip to content

PatternReview Anniversary

November 25, 2011

Last weekend I was down in Austin for the PatternReview shindig so ably planned and managed by Leslie in Austin, and returned home so exhausted (and happy!) that it took the week to recover and get to this blog entry.

I met so many wonderful seamstresses whose work I look forward to following on PR and anywhere else I can track them down! There were a total of 40 people who participated in at least some of the events.

And they were super duper events. A pants-fitting workshop, a very timely class at Sew Much More demonstrating some hems and specialized feet, fabric trunk show by Fabricker with some really exciting stuff, shopping at The Common Thread where everything was sooo elegant, a visit to Silk Road, and unexpected finds at Stitch Lab. And the social events – we had a fabulous celebratory dinner on Saturday Night, with space and cocktail hour sponsored by Sew Much More, which really added to the festivities, and gave us all an excuse to wear our fun party clothes! Fabricker contributed to our dinner, too. Texstyles gave us a patio party the following night and everyone loaded up on their extremely well-priced knits. Texstyles also gave away fabric for a Project Runway type challenge, so I’ll be looking for the results.

I was a slacker in the picture-taking department, so all I can show is what I bought.

The versatile confetti knit came from The Common Thread, and we bought every inch they had. I think most of the ladies in our group bought some of this fabric and it’s going to be so much fun to see what each person turns it into.

From left to right, starting with the dark blue:

Blue linen/cotton blend from Fabricker

Beige/Taupe stretch cotton and taupe linen from Silk Road

Retro cotton voile from Stitch Lab. I loved the 30’s style colors in that print, and the hand is lovely. Common Thread also had some beautiful voiles.

This is a very special find from Stitch Lab. The fabric on the top is from my mother’s cedar chest. There is only a small piece, and it’s quite brittle, especially where it was folded. I wanted to do something with it, but am a bit afraid to work with something so fragile, and would be very upset if I ruined it.

Check out the fabric below! The very same print, just slightly different colors. It brought tears to my eyes when I saw it. How often do you weep in a fabric store? Stitch Lab had a bolt and several remnant bundles of this fabric (and several other sewing-themed prints). I am so glad to have this. It can be used for sewing-room decor, and the original can be preserved unharmed.

I made up a couple of unique sewing-related items for door prize gifties. If you have a stitcher on your Christmas list, or if you would like to gift youself, I put these up in a Cafe Press store. The store itself is under construction and doesn’t look as pretty as it will someday….steep learning curve there….but the items are available and I’ll be adding more.

Check these and other products out at Mooney Designs! I’d love to hear what you think about them. (At the shop, scroll down below the Dachshund Christmas cards to get to the sewing stuff.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 26, 2011 6:25 pm

    Love my Mooney Designs! I missed out on the Stitch Lab and Sew Much More but how wonderful you found the fabric that so closely resembles the piece from your mother’s hope chest. It was a great weekend and I’m so glad I was able to meet you!

Leave a Reply

