Skip to content

JAM #12

December 17, 2011

Jacket a month is finished! There are still plans for a coat, but more about that later.

This is McCall’s 6775, that has been with me since I first made it circa 1979. I liked it back then, enough that I’ve preserved it through many moves and purges. It’s one of those “Make it tonight, wear it tomorrow” patterns – 3 main pattern pieces plus a facing. Even the pockets are cut on.

Well, I didn’t exactly make it overnight, but it was easy and pleasurable. The fabric is a wool blend herringbone with several colors that are found in my wardrobe – teal, black, beige, off-white – so it will go with lots of things. I bought it originally with another pattern in mind, the Cutting Line Of the Moment. I want to make that one, but just can’t find fabric that seems right. Anyway, it got cold a couple of weeks ago, and I needed a light coat. I decided to use this fabric and then remembered the old pattern.

I added some width to the bottom, figuring that my shoulders were pretty much the same as in 1979 but my hips are not. Turns out I didn’t need the extra. Why does flat pattern measuring never work out for me? Also added 1 inch in length.

Interfaced with Fashion Sewing Supply’s Pro-Tailor Deluxe and that was just right.

There was some gray Ambiance in stash for lining (pattern is designed to be unlined).  At first I thought I’d be putting shoulder pads in there, but the shoulder is surprisingly fitted, and there was no room for a pad.

Leather buttons, also from stash. I harnessed up the old Singer buttonhole attachment since I knew the coating would never fit under the Janome buttonhole foot. Turns out it was a really tight fit even under the Singer, but the buttonholer easily handled maneuvering the fabric once it was in place.

That’s it – nice lightweight coat with a swingy hem.

The Jacket-A Month challenge was such a great idea – thanks to Marciae on Stitcher’s Guild for suggesting it and starting the sewalong. My skills improved, and beyond that I learned a good lesson about my personal style.  Here’s a composite of all the jackets (some are mere cardigans since we all agreed that any 3rd layer could count). A couple are outlined in red…because I ended up wearing them only a few times and then deciding they just weren’t me. Note that they’re the ones that are the most “fashion-y”. I liked the styles, thought they were darling on other people, and really wanted them. But in the end I didn’t feel good wearing them. The jackets that were either classic or casual get worn all the time. LESSON LEARNED.

What’s up next? There are a couple of things I’m really excited about. I still need a warmer coat, and have purchased Paco Peralta’s T-Coat pattern. Paco is a Barcelona designer who is making patterns available through his Etsy store. Looks like he has taken the store offline for Christmas vacation, as it’s empty right now. I can’t seem to swipe an image to insert here, so you’ll have to go to the blog to look. Isn’t it beautiful? I have a loden wool, one of those Shetland wools from Fabric Mart, earmarked for this and hope it make it up over Christmas break. I don’t have a (nice) heavy coat right now, and even in Texas you need one sometimes.

The other thing I’m excited about is a new XXX A Month challenge. I’ve been feeling like shirts lately and mentioned on Stitcher’s Guild that I’d like to do one a month in 2012. Turns out that sounded good to other people, too, and there’s a pretty active thread going on here. Join us and perfect your shirt/blouse patterns and work on precision sewing skills!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Shams permalink
    December 17, 2011 7:01 pm

    What an impressive array of beautiful and functional jackets, Robyn! I am so impressed!

    • December 18, 2011 12:44 am

      Thanks! This project was right down my alley.

  2. December 17, 2011 7:55 pm

    Me, too, Robyn. You done good 🙂 Which one is your favorite jacket? I noticed that the red outlined ones were the brightest colors, too.

  3. December 17, 2011 7:55 pm

    I love this one! Congratulations on 12 jackets/coats this year!

  4. Martha permalink
    December 18, 2011 3:57 am

    I am very impressed with your accomplishment. Twelve jackets in twelve months. Really quite amazing. And I’m totally on board with your shirt-a-month idea. It will be such fun. Thanks.

    • December 18, 2011 2:23 pm

      Thank you. So glad you’re on board with the shirts. It will be fun!

  5. December 19, 2011 12:11 am

    Congrats on finishing 12 jackets in as many months! I know how much work jackets can be. You have made some really lovely ones.

    • December 19, 2011 1:34 pm

      Thanks! Some of them were easy, but they are balanced out by a few that weren’t.

  6. December 23, 2011 9:31 pm

    I’m so impressed that you finished this challenge! I started but puttered out around jacket 4. BTW, I’m loving your new jacket!

    • December 24, 2011 1:15 pm

      Thanks, Carolyn! What you lacked in jackets, you more than made up for in beautiful dresses!

  7. December 27, 2011 3:14 pm

    Your work is beautiful–your commitment amazing!

Leave a Reply

