Skip to content

Merry Christmas!

December 23, 2011

My best wishes to you, whether you keep Christmas or not.

This is a little nativity scene which I designed and made way back when I was young and ambitious. The idea was that I would add a new figure or animal every year. As you can see, I didn’t get very far, but it’s the sort of thing I can always pick up and start again as long as DMC keeps making embroidery floss.

I used the byzantine mosaics in Ravenna as my inspiration because the tiny needlepoint stitches reminded me of the stones of mosaics. The figures were roughly sketched out on a fine canvas and worked with the floss. I just picked out different stitches to use as I went along. The canvas was stitched onto felt stuffed felt forms that have heavy cardboard in the base so they can stand up. If I was starting this now, I’d just cut out some thin board and mount them flat. If St. Joseph ever gets to where he can’t stand on his own, I’ll fix them all up that way.

In keeping with the byzantine style, I used some conventions from early Christian icongraphy: the baby’s one hand is raised in blessing, and the other holds a fish, just in case you don’t realize who he is. He is also differentiated from the other holy figures by his nimbus.

I should really finish this out some day – the style was absolutely made for depicting resplendent figures like the wise men.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn permalink
    December 23, 2011 7:52 pm

    That is beautiful, Robyn! I miss the nativity set that I lost in my divorce a few years ago. Perhaps I should consider making one someday….. Have a wonderful Christmas!

    • December 23, 2011 7:54 pm

      Carolyn, I’m sorry you lost it, too! What was yours like?

  2. December 24, 2011 12:21 am

    This is beautiful! Thanks for sharing.
    ~Claire

  3. December 24, 2011 2:55 am

    Wow, what a lot of work Robyn!
    Merry Christmas!!

  4. December 24, 2011 2:05 pm

    Beautiful!!! Thanks for sharing. Merry Christmas to you and David.

  5. March 5, 2012 2:48 pm

    Didn’t see this before. It’s wonderful work. I would not be able to finish such a project, but perhaps one figure a year is doable. Then again, I wonder if you can do just one wise man? Lovely!

    • March 5, 2012 8:00 pm

      Thanks so much! Maybe one day I’ll get started on this again. The kings will have to arrive one at a time.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

