Skip to content

SAM #4

March 4, 2012
tags: ,

Sweet Liberty!

Shirt-A-Month #4 is Sewing Workshop’s Liberty. It’s also the overlayer part of my spring 6-pak, and can be worn as a jacket over either of the previous matchy-matchy columns. Way to make one garment count towards multiple goals, right?

The skinny (I wish) on this Liberty: The double-sided linen was purchased a long time ago from Fashion Fabrics Club. It was a clear must-have for me. One side matches my eyes and the other side matches my hair. Someone doing historical reinactments could have done the whole Civil War with this fabric if they had had enough. One side for the Union, the other side for the Confederacy. Anyway, the fabric was very special for me and I dithered for years over what to do with it. One pattern after another was considered and cast aside. Finally I decided I wanted to make the Liberty with hems and facings turned to the outside. The irony here is that you could absolutely make the same effect with two contrasting fabrics. The only place the double-sided characteristic of the fabric was utilized was the hems, and you could easily cut a hem facing in your contrast.

Other changes from the pattern: lengthened an inch. I have made this before and did

not really care for the wavy collar in the pattern, so this time I cut a straight band. Also, the instructions call for french seams. Since this linen is pretty heavy, that was not the way to go. Instead, I pressed the seam allowances open and then turned them under, using a triple stitch topstitch on either side of the seam to secure.

This is the way it looks from the outside.

And this is the way it looks on the inside.I’ve only used decorative stitches on my machine a very, very few times. The idea for using the triple topstitch came directly from Carolyn of Diary of a Sewing Fanatic fame.

There must be something about the Liberty that makes me want to use the decorative stitches, though. My previous version (also linen) used a wing-needle and hemstitching along the hem and facing edges.

 

This is a very fun pattern to make, and not difficult, but it is so distinctive that I may not make it again. But I see that an Eskandar design (at Nieman’s) seems to have a similar hem/vent in a longer length. That might just be different enough to give the pattern a third whirl.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2012 2:53 am

    WOW you’re on SAM #4! Great choice of fabrics and pattern. Love it.

  2. Lydia permalink
    March 5, 2012 4:29 am

    What can I say??? One smart jacket. Keep ’em coming…..Lydia

  3. March 5, 2012 5:41 pm

    I love the new Liberty. Someday, I’ll get around buying this pattern!

  4. March 6, 2012 9:19 am

    I love your shirt – I need to get going on Miss March

  5. Martha permalink
    March 7, 2012 10:03 pm

    I keep coming back to your posts on this version of the Liberty. It is just divine. I wish I could see it in person. A double-backed linen must be interesting. I also like the change you made in the color. I’ve only made this once and did use the wavy collar. However, people just want to reach over and fold it down when I wear it. It looks like I flipped it up accidentally. Your straight collar is much nicer. Great posts and great piece!

    • March 7, 2012 11:37 pm

      Martha, thank you! The fabric almost looks like they spray-painted it on one side. It’s not a special weave.

  6. March 10, 2012 7:36 pm

    Beautiful shirt/topper! Glad that the triple stitch worked for you…it’s one of my favorites. Love that this is the first piece of your Spring/Summer 6pk!

  7. April 9, 2013 6:49 pm

    Yahoo Answers are loved by Google and many of the Yahoo Answers are sitting on high ranking especially for some highly competitive keywords. You can’t even imagine what effect can Yahoo Answers provide to the traffic of your site. Don’t wait and learn more about this at http://yanswertraffic.com/

Leave a Reply

