Skip to content

fall 6-pak

August 1, 2014

Each season there is a nice wardrobe-building sew along on Artisan’s Square. It’s the brainchild of ejvc, whose blog is here, and includes lots of posts on the topic. Each season you sew six items, mostly neutrals, and if you actually complete your six-paks, you end up with a very functional closet full of things that work together. At the beginning of this thread on Artisan’s Square, you can read her prescription for this fall. Fall 6-pak.

I have often joined up, but usually punk out after about 3 or 4 items. I think I’ve finished the whole 6-pak maybe twice. Still, even 3 or 4 planned items that go together are handy to have.

Once again, I’m inspired to give it a try. I even have a plan.

Fall 6-pak_edited-1

Colors are charcoal, indigo, a lighter indigo, and dusty plum. The Burda trousers are already made. The Pure & Simple jacket is a TNT, and there are no worries about fitting the other jacket – this is view B and I have already made view A which fits just fine. The Lola pants and Helix Tee have been sitting out cluttering up my work space for a long time, waiting to be fitted and made. The second top has not pattern selected for it – I’m waiting until the fall issue of Ottobre Woman comes out to see if they have something new that fits with this collection.

This plan is not very ambitious, which gives me hope that it can be completed.

Another attraction of this particular plan is that I already have all the fabrics except for the charcoal jacket, and that should not be difficult to find. This is the fabric stack.

fall 6-pak fabrics

top to bottom:

dusty plum knit of unknown content….a flat fold purchased off a bargain table

blue “Parisian knit” from Marcy Tilton

indigo cotton/spandex with a narrow rib woven in. I bought this stuff for pants and later realized that the ribs would make a noise when I walk, like corduroy. Much better as a jacket.

charcoal drapey poly blend for the Lolas. Polyester is not good for summers here, but OK for fall.

Not pictured is the indigo denim that has already been made up as Burda pants, and the charcoal jacket fabric that I will shop for. Something with some texture would be nice.

I’d like to say a few words about the Burda pants pattern. It’s from the Fall 2008 Plus magazine, number 404, but I believe it also appeared in the regular BurdaStyle mag. It may even be offered as a PDF. For my pear-shaped figure, these pants have been a super substitute for jeans. They have a narrow leg, for a close fit, but the line from hip to ankle is straight. When I look at the line drawings in Burda and they show a cut that hugs the thighs down to the knee, and then goes straight or flares from there, I know those are unflattering to me. This cut seems to be unusual for a close-fitting pant.

Other features that make this pant a winner: there are a total of four darts in the back, excellent for fitting and eliminating a gap at the back waist. And note that the waistband in back is in two pieces. This also helps with fitting because the waistband is attached before stitching the center back seam. You can sew the crotch most of the way, leaving an opening at CB, then try the pants on and pin fit the center back so that it snugs up to your waist. Then sew the CB of the pants and the waistband all in one swoop. Alter the waistband facing to match the waistband and stitch it last.

This method of construction also makes future alteration easy. You can easily open up the waistband to take in that center back seam if you lose weight. If you leave fat seam allowances, you also could let the pants out in the back if needed.

I still had to do some fitting with this pattern, but it was a much better starting point than most patterns. You may not be able to find this exact pattern, but if you have full hips and rear and a relatively small waist, look for the same features when considering pants patterns. I think they will make fitting easier for you.

burda 404

Here is the line drawing again, along with the schematic of the pattern pieces, to illustrate what I wrote about.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2014 3:50 pm

    I love the colour choices and I think it will work really well. Also the trouser pattern maybe what I am looking for too. I laughed about the too noisy for pants comment!

  2. August 1, 2014 4:43 pm

    This looks like a great plan!

  3. August 1, 2014 4:55 pm

    Great to hear from you. Fingers crossed you complete this one as I do think it is a real winner!

  4. August 1, 2014 8:08 pm

    Such a great idea! I’m going to try it because I am finding my wardrobe is all over the place with a lot of things just unwearable – nothing to go with them! I love your colours….dramatic! Is the idea that to use the same palette across 4 seasons? That is, will you carry these shades right through to summer? Jane

    • August 3, 2014 6:47 pm

      You end up with a very flexible wardrobe if you stick to the same neutrals, but it is by no means required for the sewalongs. Some people pick new colors every season. I wear mostly neutrals and blues, so other colors don’t tempt me too much. There has been a thread every season on Stitcher’s Guild for years with loads of discussion and photos of what the participants have made. Check out the archives for lots of inspiration.

  5. KristenI permalink
    August 1, 2014 11:42 pm

    I love the Indigo palette. Can’t wait to see your progress.

  6. Vancouver Barbara permalink
    August 2, 2014 2:22 am

    Even though it’s stinking hot here in Vancouver and I’m wrapped in Indian gauze, your post got me thinking about the autumn/winter wardrobe. And mixing it up with the minimalist who wanted a raincoat with a double-sided undercoat for most possible permutations, I started shopping my pattern stash and fabric stash and have come up with something that pleases me very much. It will be a reversible raincoat, big and a slim cut reversible undercoat. So thanks for the inspiration.

    Also, YES, I do like putting in zippers. Or at least, I used to. Haven’t done one in years. Everything seems to be pull on or pull over and no zips for the moment.

    • August 3, 2014 1:01 am

      Vancouver weather has got to be the the furthest thing possible from my local weather. My only zips are in pants, still…..thanks to Sandra Betzina’s instructions, those are a piece of cake.

  7. August 2, 2014 7:26 am

    Beautiful colours. I too have started thinking about the A/W wardrobe and you’ve just encouraged me even more now.

  8. August 4, 2014 7:17 am

    I was recommended this blog via my cousin. I am now not certain whether or not this submit is written by means of him as no one else recognise such
    specified about my trouble. You are incredible! Thank you!

  9. August 4, 2014 10:20 am

    What’s up, this weekend is fastidious for me, because this occasion i am reading
    this wonderful educational post here at my house.

  10. August 4, 2014 4:07 pm

    Attractive element of content. I simply stumbled upon your web
    site and in accession capital to claim that I get actually loved account your weblog posts.
    Any way I will be subscribing in your feeds or even I achievement you get right of entry
    to persistently rapidly.

  11. August 4, 2014 7:38 pm

    Outstanding post however , I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit
    more. Kudos!

  12. August 6, 2014 4:37 pm

    I was curious if you ever considered changing the layout of your site?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having
    one or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

Leave a Reply

