Skip to content

Ottobre “colorful concrete”

August 31, 2015

The newest edition of Ottobre Woman is even heavier on the knit designs than usual, but that actually fit right in with what I need.  Leggings are soon comfortable that I decided I would start wearing them. That means I need some long tops to wear with them. This style, #7 from the 5/2015 issue, looked like a good option. It is a flared hem tunic with very dropped shoulders.

A nice beefy rayon/Lycra knit in a tie dye print seemed to echo the spirit of the colorful print they showed in the magazine. My knit came from Fabric.com and it is nicer than I expected.

imageThis is easy sewing with only 3 main pieces and a flat sleeve head. I did a forward shoulder adjustment, widened at the hip, and shortened the back by an inch and a half. The high/low effect is still a little more extreme than I like, so if I make this again I would also lengthen the front. And shorten the sleeves.

There are center front and center back seams which are supposed to be accented with a cover stitch. Since I don’t have a cover stitch machine, I used the feather stitch on my regular machine. Some tearaway stabilizer kept those stitches nice and flat. I also needed to stabilize the hem for twin needle stitching.

image

Cooper thinks I should accessorize with a red dog towel.

There is a cute hooded cardigan in this issue that I also got grey fabric to make up. It will go well over this top. Then I think I’ll also make a woven tunic that will coordinate and that will give me a nice little fall grouping.

I hope your summer has been long and relaxing! I’m all ready for fall activities to begin, although cooler temperatures are still at least a month off.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2015 1:18 am

    I like the high/low effect on the top but think it will look equally good if you lengthen the front a bit. Leggings are ridiculously comfortable and easy to wear – I could just about live in them. Your sewing plans seem very good. I wish I was as organised!
    Cooper is lovely, and I think the red towel is a great accessory 😃

  2. September 1, 2015 5:04 am

    Your top looks so comfortable, and I think it is also a becoming style for you. What a sweet dog.

  3. September 1, 2015 12:03 pm

    I like this kind of look and I love the red towel! I also agree that it could be longer at the front and shorter in the sleeve. But that is what keeps us sewing, isn’t it? Trying to produce the perfect garment! Nice work.

  4. September 1, 2015 2:54 pm

    This is a really nice and becoming top. I agree that maybe the front could be a little longer, but it still looks great.

  5. September 5, 2015 2:46 pm

    Thanks for your input on the length! Your opinions will help with my next long top, no matter which pattern it comes from. I appreciate the comments.

  6. September 21, 2015 12:52 pm

    I really like this on you. Your fabric is beautiful. I’m also enjoying the knit options in this issue.

Leave a Reply

