Skip to content

plans for another knock off

October 6, 2015

There are no completed projects to show here this time. My half-purchased half-sewn 6pak is complete, and I will take some photos to share in the next post. This one is being put up to host some photo inspiration for an upcoming project.

One of the members on Pattern Review, PammyJ, started a thread on a linen coat worn by Essie Davis in the Miss Fisher murder series. I vaguely remembered a duster type coat that she had worn motoring and flying an aeroplane (a little period spelling here), but couldn’t recall any details. However, the next episode up for viewing on my TV featured the coat, and then I wanted one, too.

Here are some decent photos of the coat gleaned from the official Phryne Fisher Pinterest page.

obscured by lovely scarf

with yet another lovely scarf

with lovely scarf number three

So many lovely scarves hiding the details I need to see to make this coat!

However, from watching episode in my queue (no scarves) I could see the following: below knee length, unlined, single breasted, buttoned sleeve tabs, raglan sleeves, flapped pockets, slightly rounded collar, center back seam. PammyJ thought there were bellows pockets, but on second viewing it looks to me like they are just patch pockets with flaps.

Here are a few more poor quality photos that I snapped off the TV.

Fisher coat 1 Fisher coat 2

I also found a pattern to use for my copy in an old Ottobre Woman. This is #20 from the 5/2007 issue. This should be pretty simple to adapt.

otto 2007_05_20

I had a piece of cotton/linen blend that has the right weight and drape, but not enough to make the duster length of the original. Luckily, fabric.com still has some and a few more yards are on their way to me now.

In my research, I read that the costume designer for the show intended this coat as an homage to classic detectives. Phryne Fisher and Sam Spade all wrapped up in one coat! I’m pretty excited to get started on this soon.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Martha permalink
    October 7, 2015 2:18 am

    Looks like such fun! Can’t wait to see yours coming along. Please do consider posting in-process pix!

    • Anonymous permalink
      October 7, 2015 12:57 pm

      Martha, I will try to remember to take some in-progress photos. When you are in the flow, it’s easy to forget!

    • October 7, 2015 1:03 pm

      Martha, the other comment was from me. Funny, I thought Google always knew who and where I am!

  2. October 7, 2015 6:50 am

    5/2007 is a winner issue – I was just looking at it yesterday. The original has raglan shoulders and this has saddle shoulders – will it make a difference? Also, are you going to get a matching haircut :-)?

    • October 7, 2015 1:05 pm

      Good point on the shoulders. Maybe I’ll take a look through the old Burdas and see if there is anything closer. I used to have my hair like that and liked it, but I looked more like the little Dutch girl than vampy lady detective!

  3. October 7, 2015 7:05 pm

    Nice coat – I look forward to seeing your version. Why didn’t I think of photographing the tv? Genius!

  4. October 7, 2015 7:50 pm

    I love Miss Fisher’s Mysteries. The clothes are so elegant. It is wonderful to see actual garments rather than line drawings of clothing of that era. Netflix has been wonderful. I would not know about Phryne Fisher otherwise.

  5. October 7, 2015 11:40 pm

    Very nice coat! I didn’t know that that shape is called a saddle shoulder. Thanks for the info. I do see that it’s a bit different. I’ve been looking through my old Burda’s for coat patterns and there are a number of coats with raglan sleeves. Miss Fisher’s coat is also single breasted, but that’s easy to fix. It looks like a pretty easy coat to make. Are you going to line it?

    • October 13, 2015 2:46 pm

      Nancy, I’ve also seen the saddle shoulder called a magyar shoulder. Always more to learn! I’ll leave the coat unlined, like the original.

  6. Pauline Cocard permalink
    October 8, 2015 2:54 am

    I wish I had seen your post last week as my sister and I went to the Miss fisher Exhibition last week at Ripponlea Estate in Melbourne. The house is used as Aunt Prudences home in the series. . Was up close and personal with the coat. It was made in a kind of rough textured linen with antique buttons. Shame it was overshadowed by rooms of all the very elegant silk beaded creations handmade for the show. With most of the garments there was a swatch of the fabrics so we could feel the what the wardrobe people were working with. The designer , Marion Boyce I think it is, sources fabrics and accessories as close to the period as possible, taking apart disintergrating garments and re using as much as possible. You really have to see these garments up close to see the seaming detail which is kind of lost in the filming. I don’t know which episode number has Miss Fisher in a tank of water, but the design and execution of the scales on the costume is miraculous. In a room set up as a sewing room the evolution of the scales was set out. and details of the dyeing of braid for what is called the funeral coat. I hope this has been of interest to you. My first ever comment on a blog. but I couldn’t resist. Also, we are very proud Of Essie Davis as she is Tasmanian like my sister, who still lives there, and me. Believe she is going to be in Game of Thrones. Please do show us the coat in progress. Best wishes fron Australia.

    • October 13, 2015 2:51 pm

      Pauline, what a fun trip that must have been! That watertank episode is in season 3, the one just now available to us in the States. A big part of the fun in watching this series, apart from the wonderful wardrobing, is the Australian flavor. There are countless small details that give insight into Australian history for us outsiders.

  7. October 8, 2015 12:48 pm

    I LOVE Ms. Phryne Fisher!

    PS have you seen NETFLIX: “The Time In Between” ?
    A Spanish seamstress goes to Morocco with a handsome Bad Boyfriend, but her sewing skills save her after he…
    …well, you have to see it – GORGEOUS CLOTHES and so much fun!

  8. October 9, 2015 2:21 am

    I just love Mrs Fisher. And I am looking forward to seeing your coat!

  9. October 10, 2015 4:09 pm

    Great style of coat – timeless.

Trackbacks

  1. Miss Fisher coat – complete! | Unzipped

Leave a Reply

