Skip to content

fall 6-pac

October 13, 2015

The extra material for the Miss Fisher coat is on the way and should be here later this week. Fabric.com took their time getting it in the mail, but shipping is free so I am not complaining.

ejvc hosts seasonal sewalongs on Stitcher’s Guild that are built around 6 coordinating garments. There are always some resulting collections that are really inspiring. The threads are great sources of ideas for both simple and challenging projects, and usually also have lots of discussion of color, as well.

I bought a couple pairs of leggings for fall, something I never thought I would do. Because of that, I really did need to make some tops to wear with them. No short tops with leggings!  2 pairs of leggings (one black, one navy), one purchased gray top, and the three sewn pieces below make up my “cheater” 6 pac.

OTTO 5_15_17This Ottobre top was written up a couple of posts back. The more I think about it, the less I like the high/low hemline. I won’t do that again. But I like the fit of the rest of the top with the slouchy extended shoulders. Good for casual and relaxed wear. This is #17 from the 5/2015 issue of Ottobre.

Burda 5_11_131The silk tunic was adapted from Burda Style 5/2011 #131. I chose it because it has both front and back gathered into the yoke, and bust darts in addition to the gathers. This particular pattern also fit me well in the shoulders and has an armscye and sleeve that I like. I added extra width to both the front and back because I was afraid that without the extra it might look skimpy in the lightweight silk. Maybe I overcompensated? It does feel very lovely and swirly to wear, and probably looks a little more body conscious in motion than in a still photo.

OTTO 5_15_4One of the features of the 6-pac is the suggestion to include a jacket. I went with a long cardigan. This is also from the 5/2015 Ottobre, #4. There are two versions of the cardigan in the magazine. One has a curled raw edge on the front band, the other is pieced of different colors and has a hood. I made the pieced version and went to the trouble of topstitching the seam allowances down on either side of each seam in an attempt to emphasize the piecing. This was mostly wasted effort! With the texture of my fabric, the topstitching doesn’t show unless you look very closely.

I wanted a really drapey cardigan and that’s what I got. The fabric was described as a rayon sweatshirt knit. The textured side has silky short fleece-like fibers, kind of hard to describe. Ottobre called for merino wool, and I think on the whole a more stable fabric, like a medium weight wool knit or real sweatshirt knit, might have been a better choice. Especially if you plan to put in the pockets as designed. I interfaced the heck out of my pocket openings, but they are still droopy, so they are going to be sewn up.

2015 Fall 6 pacLastly, here’s the whole shebang. The purchased tunic is the last on the right…and I only photographed with the navy leggings. If I were sewing this over again there are a few things I would do differently, but that’s always the way it is. I’m satisfied with my little 6-pac and will wear all of these items a lot this fall and winter.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2015 6:30 pm

    I like your colour theme, you have a nice co-ordinated group.

  2. October 13, 2015 8:17 pm

    It’s a nice fall wardrobe. I like the leggings with your choice of tops. Four tops and 2 bottoms make a very nice core wardrobe. Whose leggings did you buy?

  3. October 13, 2015 8:26 pm

    It’s always nice to have a new wardrobe choice when the seasons change. I like the colours and shades in your’s!

  4. Martha permalink
    October 13, 2015 11:34 pm

    I like your 6-pac a lot!

  5. Mary permalink
    October 14, 2015 4:17 am

    This mini wardrobe is wonderful on you…I love those colors with your beautiful hair.

  6. October 14, 2015 2:23 pm

    How nice, Robyn! You have a wonderful color theme and pieces that all work together. I dropped the ball on my six pack this season–but there’s always next season!

    • October 16, 2015 11:07 am

      Thanks! You are right, there’s always a new season right around the corner if a collection doesn’t happen.

  7. October 14, 2015 6:09 pm

    The 6PAC is a wonderful idea and you have made a lovely coordinating wardrobe. Enjoy all of your lovely garments.

  8. thesnarkyseamstress permalink
    October 14, 2015 9:36 pm

    Great group of garments. They go together so nicely.

Leave a Reply

