Skip to content

Miss Fisher coat – complete!

November 12, 2015
tags:

otto 5_07_20_frontSide note – there is a planning post on this project here with photos of the inspiration coat.

This was a super fun project. I enjoyed sleuthing out the details to make a semi-faithful knockoff, enjoyed sewing, and will get plenty of wear out of this coat.

After waffling between the Ottobre pattern (# 20 from the 5/2007 issue, “Raglan-sleeve trenchcoat”) and some possible candidates from old Burda magazines, I decided to go with Otto. It has an a-line cut, while the Burdas were either straight up and down or extremely swingy. Besides that, I am just going through a period of Otto love and wanted to use theirs.
Modifications: Converted to single breasted, added length, eliminated their sleeve ties and carriers and substituted tabs, and rounded the collar points to imitate the inspiration coat. Eliminated the back facing. Shortened the sleeves a little bit, too. Otto sleeves are always too long on me. I did not do a forward shoulder alteration; maybe a small one would have been in order.

The fabric was a Kaufman linen/cotton blend from stash. I thought I’d be able to order more (the pattern is for a shorter coat) in order to not worry about getting the length I wanted, but the source was sold out. With some thoughtful single layer cutting, I was able to get the whole coat out of the original piece! I was really pleased, because even though my fabric is a little heavier than Miss Fisher’s actual coat, I really wanted the weight and drape of this particular material.

otto 5_07_20_backBack view – the back is plain except for a center back seam.

All the seams were flat-felled, so the inside of the coat is clean finished. For the facings and hems, I thought about finishing with bias strips from lining fabric, but remembered I wanted to try the “Hug Snug” rayon seam binding that Wawak carries. I liked the Hug Snug very well. It molded itself around the facing curves nicely, and the shiny contrast to the linen makes it look a little bit like piping.IMG_6780

The coat was sewed on the trusty old Singer 66 with buttonholes courtesy of an old style buttonhole attachment on this rotary Kenmore machine. I was surprised at how easy the attachment was to use, and am glad that the unreliable computerized machine that I was keeping around for buttonholes can finally be retired. Now I’m on the lookout for more buttonhole templates, if they exist. This particular kit was complete, but only contained 5.

singer66

kenny buttonholer

I like the coat and don’t have any cautions to pass on. I made my usual combination of Otto sizes, and the coat is plenty roomy to go over sweaters and other layers. I have lost some weight, but feel like the coat would still be big enough for layers even if I hadn’t.

otto 2007_05_20

This coat is item #1 in my 2016 SWAP. There are a few made-before-the-deadline pieces allowed in this year’s rules. This will probably be the only one for me. Because I had so much fun copying this piece and the Eileen Fisher tunic earlier this year, my SWAP will feature knock offs. This will be my first SWAP in years, and I am really looking forward to it!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky Stannard permalink
    November 12, 2015 5:08 pm

    Wonderful coat, Robyn. Your hair looks fantastic. Wish you could enter the “Great UK Sewing Bee” ( I may not have the title quite right). It’s a series that’s been on BBC4 for the past two years. Take a look at it on BBC on your computer.

    • November 13, 2015 3:33 pm

      Thank, Becky! I did watch the first season of the sewing bee, and hear it has inspired imitations in other countries. I hope season two is on YouTube.

  2. November 12, 2015 5:19 pm

    ‘Otto love’ I so understand. While I love Burda Styling, it is Otto that I have used the most. Your coat looks wonderful. Definitely a good wardrobe staple.

  3. November 12, 2015 7:04 pm

    I love this coat – it looks very versatile. The old buttonhole attachments are magnificent. I use one in preference to my Pfaff all the time – they make cookie cutter precise buttonholes every time unlike my modern machine.

    • November 13, 2015 3:34 pm

      I expected it to be awkward to use, but the buttonholes went very quickly and look so nice. Thanks for your comment!

  4. Nancy K permalink
    November 12, 2015 7:57 pm

    Great coat! It looks wonderful on you and very useful.

  5. November 13, 2015 4:20 am

    Wow! Lovely work! It looks better than ready to wear!

  6. November 13, 2015 7:40 am

    Your coat is perfect – so stylish and excellent fit. I don’t know Otto so off to take a look.

    • November 13, 2015 3:37 pm

      Do check out Ottobre. They have two women’s issues a year, mostly current basics, well drafted. Their styling in the photos can be a little odd sometimes, but the patterns are great. Thanks for your comment!

  7. Mary permalink
    November 13, 2015 2:40 pm

    My gosh…that is a wonderful coat and so truly yours!

  8. November 14, 2015 4:11 pm

    Wow, you start big! Even if you don’t finish the SWAP you will have this wonderful coat.

  9. rustybobn permalink
    January 31, 2016 2:23 am

    I saw an episode of Miss Fisher featuring the inspiration coat and that marvelous hat and recalled your work on this. Very nice! I, too, am smitten with it. Thanks for sharing your work.

Leave a Reply

