Skip to content

SWAP 2016 progress

February 22, 2016

This is the first year I’ve participated in SWAP for a long time. I do actually need clothes, and the rules suit me fine, so the timing was great this year.

Most of the sewing is done. There is a pair of black linen pants and another white top to make, and that’s all. Here’s the SWAP so far. Head is cropped off because I am having a bad face day. 🙂

Here we have a pair of narrowish pants in a gray twill with a lot of body. They are from a Burda plus issue that seems like it has no date on it. At least, I can’t find it. The pants have four narrow waistline darts in front, four regular darts in back, and a cute little ankle slit. The original pattern had a faced waist, but I added a waistband. The pants are paired with a Cutting Line Hearts a Flutter top that I changed up with a button front.

SWAP1Front and rear views. Of the things I’ve made so far for SWAP, I’m most critical of these two. I’m glad I added the waistband to the pants, because some elastic needs to be added in there to help them stay in place.  Maybe I will take in the side seams a just a little bit, too. However, I have worn these all day so they might be a bit bagged out. Maybe the best thing to do is wash and dry them a few more times to see if there’s some shrinkage still to come. A little shrinking might be just the thing in this case.

Critique on the top – here Photoshop has come in handy to show what it would look like if I shortened the top a bit more than an inch. Better proportion, I think, and totally worth doing. In fact, maybe it will get shortened even a little more. To be fair to the designer, I did lengthen the top when I made it up. Mistake!

SWAPproportion 1

 

Here are the same pants with the Hot Patterns Sunshine top. There was a thin knit in the stash that was way too sheer for a regular top. My reasoning was that the volume of the gathers would mitigate the sheerness. They do, but I will probably always wear a light jacket when leaving the house in it. The scooped neck of the Sunshine top is both deep and wide. I used a smaller size for the neckband and just gathered the rest of the top to fit.

SWAP2

What happened to my shoes?

The boxy jacket is from Burda, the 2/2009 issue, #134. The original had bust darts that I converted to shoulder princess seams so that I could flat fell them. Shouler darts in the back were also converted to vertical flat felled seams. I also eliminated the bottom band/peplum that was in the original pattern. What did I keep? The cute vented sleeves! Cooper must think that jacket = walk.

SWAP3

Another grouping, and the Birkenstocks are back. The top is Cutting Line’s Plain & Simple shell, modified to mimic a Style Arc pattern I like . It’s made up in double sided double gauze, with the reverse used for the shoulder yoke. I picked apart the layers at the seams for the yoke, so that the seam allowances could be hidden between them without cutting two yokes. There are some gathers at the yoke in center back, too.

The Tabula Rasa jacket pattern was selected because I wanted something kimono-ish for that indigo chrysanthemum print. The fabric is fairly heavy, and I underlined it, which gave me another boxy jacket.

Pants – another Burda style. I have been calling them “carrot” pants, but maybe it would be better just to call them pleated pants that are narrow at the ankle. I like them a lot. They are from the 09/2011 issue, style #120.

SWAP4

I don’t know if this top actually fits the rules, because it’s a recycled piece from my last 6-pac. I cut it down to make the little Ottobre dolman T, #17 from the 02/2015 issue. This is a quick and easy top to make, but there are a few things not apparent from the drawings and photos – the neckline is not as scooped and wide as the drawing, and the shoulder and sleeve fit is really snug. I will probably make another one of these.

Parts of the SWAP not shown in this post are the Miss Fisher trench coat from last year (rules allow a previously made item) and purchased blue jeans.

Two more pieces to go, and that should do it.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Marcia permalink
    February 22, 2016 11:50 pm

    Looks good!!
    Marcia

  2. February 23, 2016 8:14 am

    Looks great! I’d check re the cut down top.

  3. February 23, 2016 2:13 pm

    All good, and I hope Cooper got his walk 😃

  4. February 23, 2016 2:46 pm

    I like all these pieces, Robyn. You really made these basics your own. I’m particularly fond of your Tabula Rasa jacket.

  5. February 24, 2016 10:37 am

    I agree that this SWAP is really coming together well. I especially like the double gauze top Robyn. And the Kimono jacket. Its a super combination.

  6. February 27, 2016 8:48 am

    Inspiring to see that you’ve made so much for your SWAP. Well done. The Tabula Rasa jacket looks great in that fabric – very lux.

  7. Silver Mom permalink
    March 30, 2016 10:01 pm

    I’m mad at myself for only now discovering your blog – so I’ve made up for lost time by reading your past posts. What an inspiring sewing journey over the last several years! I look forward to much more UNZIPPED to come.

    Tomorrow begins my ASG chapter’s four-day sewing retreat for which my challenge to myself is to fit the Tabula Rasa jacket and then make it up in some marvelous Asian-inspired fabric which has been aging in my fabric collection for several years. Being able to see your many TR jackets has encouraged me.

Leave a Reply

